Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation


Graduate student Will Thompson-Butler and Allegra Hosford Scheirer traveled to Bucaramanga and Bogotá in Colombia to visit scientists at Ecopetrol.

Several BPSM scientists traveled to Calgary to attend the AAPG ACE, 2016.

Dr. Kenneth Peters is the winner of the 2016 Alfred Wegener Award from the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE). Listen to his acceptance speech in full article.

The entire BPSM staff attended the AAPG Hedberg Conference on the "Future of Basin and Petroleum Systems Modeling."

BPSM Principal Scientists Ken Peters and Bjorn Wygrala will teach a pre-conference course in “Geochemistry and Modeling of Unconventional Petroleum Systems” at the AAPG ICE in Melbo
Hart Energy

The discovery and exploitation of oil and gas in unconventional reservoirs has been called a revolution for the energy industry.

A highlight of the Winter Quarter (January-March, 2014) was the inaugural teaching of Quantitative Methods in Basin and Petroleum System Modeling as a full-fledged course; a pilot course of 6 lectu

BPSM Principal Scientist Allegra Hosford Scheirer was invited to sit on the Steering Committee of the recently funded Research Coordination Network "Internet of Samples in the Earth Sciences."

BPSM students & scientists took advantage of the opportunity to attend numerous short courses during the year.

Several students attended the KFUPM-Stanford field trip in El Paso, TX in March 2014 with Stanford Professor and organizer Don Lowe.

This is a busy summer for BPSM graduate students. Tess Menotti and Blair Burgreen successfully defended their PhD theses on August 8, 2014! Congratulations!

BPSM students and researchers have attended numerous meetings and trainings in 2013 and 2014:

ENI Award

Professor Tapan Mukerji won the New Frontiers of Hydrocarbons-Upstream Prize awarded by ENI in Spring, 2014.

BPSM is excited to announce that graduate students Minh Tran and Wisam AlKawai graduated with their Masters' degrees in June 2014.

Blair Burgreen won an Outstanding Student Paper Award from the Tectonophysics section of the American Geophysical Union at the 2013 Fall Meeting.